Scott Kiekbusch
1 min readApr 18, 2019

--

Full disclosure… I’m new to Framer (I’ve been using a beta version of Framer X), but it seems very promising as a design tool. There are some really smart features that speed up the design workflow, and the ability to incorporate React into the prototypes is compelling.

I’m exploring Framer (versus using Sketch) because I’m interested in the best way to efficiently build a responsive UI prototype. Additional challenge: the prototype I’m building has a reliance on form fields. Form fields are doable, but so far I’ve found that it takes quite a bit of effort & coding to get it working (and I haven’t even worked too much on the responsive part yet).

This brings me back to WebFlow. It’s a tool I’ve used in the past to build landing pages. When I’m responsible for designing & building an HTML page, I typically sketch or rough out a UI, create graphical elements as needed, and then go into code. WebFlow actually makes it very easy to adjust any elements on the page within different breakpoints/viewports. It also does form fields out of the box because you’re working with actual HTML elements. You don’t need to hack something to make it work (eh-hem, Framer); it just works.

For my current needs, I think WebFlow makes the most sense. Although I’m keeping my eye on Framer as a promising tool for prototyping native mobile UI. InVision Studio is another one that I’m testing out with features comparable to Framer.

--

--

Scott Kiekbusch

Digital product design & strategy. Team builder. Stoic. Instructor. Keynote speaker. Co-Author of The Designer’s Guide to Product Vision http://amzn.to/2Epfb3U